What is the story here?

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

What is the story here?

Postby jbj » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:46 pm

I have been sorting for a few months and just got a box the other day from the bank and all but three pennies were 1980 or older. Found one wheat penny. Found one penny from 2005, one 1995 and one 1987. I did not find any 1982 or 1981 pennies. This really struck me as weird. Any ideas what this was about. I have probably sorted $500 to $1000 in pennies so far and usually I am around 20%- 30% copper.
jbj

Re: What is the story here?

Postby Mooski » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:51 pm

Sometimes I get the exact opposite - all the pennies are 1995 and one or two in each roll are 'different'.

This happens when I get the rolls in the plastic wrappers instead of the paper ones, so I see immediately the amount of 'fun' I am going to have.

So I would guess that someone had a whole bunch of pennies out in their garage, cashed them in, and when they re-rolled them, the three 'stray' pennies got mixed in and you got the rewards!

Did you go back and buy the rest of the pennies from that bank? :)
Mooski
Penny Pincher Member

Postby cesariojpn » Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:52 pm

The copper gods have blessed you my son. You must make proper tribute by offering up a bottle of Wine. None of that Australian stuff. They will get mad.
cesariojpn
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby rickygee » Thu Nov 04, 2010 12:14 am