Possible 1942 silver, no mint mark

Discussions pertaining to the investing in, collecting and saving of U.S. CuNi Nickels and Canadian Ni and CuNi Nickels, and other coins containing nickel. Put in your "5 cents" here.

Possible 1942 silver, no mint mark

Postby cwgii » Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:15 pm

I can find no reference to this possibility, so I am fairly certain, there is another explanation. It has the dark coloring of the manganese.
Hope to get the OL to take a picture with her , newer, phone.
cwgii
Too Busy Posting to Hoard Anything Else

Re: Possible 1942 silver, no mint mark

Postby cwgii » Sun Nov 20, 2022 3:37 pm

I have no knowledge on how to post a photo.help
cwgii

Postby Silver4face » Sun Nov 20, 2022 7:54 pm

Can you take the coin to your local coin shop and have them test for silver content? I was able to do so with a piece of jewelry that actually contains a small amount of silver.
Buy rolls NOW while you still can!
Silver4face
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby cwgii » Sun Nov 20, 2022 10:01 pm

My plan.
cwgii

Postby NiBullionCu » Mon Nov 21, 2022 5:53 pm

Hate to burst your bubble, but there are no known silver war nickels without a mintmark over the dome.

Yours could be the first; but highly unlikely.

I have seen many ugly, dark jeffersons that at first blush, look like ugly war nickels, but, if no mintmark over the dome... not silver.
NiBullionCu
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby dakota1955 » Tue Nov 22, 2022 2:18 pm

I thought of a Henning nickel but those should be dated 1944
dakota1955

Postby Doctor Steuss » Tue Nov 22, 2022 5:30 pm

cwgii wrote:I have no knowledge on how to post a photo.help

Hi Cwgii,

I use ImgBB as of late. If you go to the site, and click "Start Uploading" it will pop up with a file explorer for your computer.