Tips needed re: stores with "foreign coin" bins.

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting, converting, using, and saving world coins.

Tips needed re: stores with "foreign coin" bins.

Postby thecrazyone » Tue Jan 17, 2023 10:09 am

I have now hit a few different locations where they have had a "foreign coin" bin and the price is low for each one.

My question to you guys is, what do you immediately look for first? Date minimums? Specific countries?

I know that various world coins will contain precious metals, but it's a bit hard for me to go to a bin and start looking at every single coin, when I have no background on these. I'm guessing Euro's are good grabs if they are cheap (since currently used today), but wanted to hear the strategies that you guys use.

Thanks!
Author: Bring CHANGE Into Your Life (A Truly Easy Investment Tool)
https://www.amazon.com/Bring-CHANGE-Int ... 1077276869
thecrazyone
Post Hoarder

Re: Tips needed re: stores with "foreign coin" bins.

Postby TXSTARFIRE » Tue Jan 17, 2023 11:50 am

I just grab ones that I like. For some reason I like coins with ships on them.
TXSTARFIRE
1000+ Penny Miser Member

Postby thecrazyone » Tue Jan 17, 2023 1:05 pm

TXSTARFIRE wrote:I just grab ones that I like. For some reason I like coins with ships on them.

Thanks for that. I got a bunch of ones recently that are from Iceland, never even know that currency existed!
thecrazyone
Post Hoarder

Postby Silver4face » Thu Jan 19, 2023 10:50 pm

TXSTARFIRE wrote:I just grab ones that I like. For some reason I like coins with ships on them.

As you might already know, British half pennies from 1937-1967 have ships on the reverse. The King George ones are worth more than the Queen
Buy rolls NOW while you still can!
Silver4face
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby Silver4face » Thu Jan 19, 2023 10:53 pm

If the bin or box is small enough, I will go through ALL of it. I generally target LARGE coins for a variety of reasons.